Warburg Institute Iconographic Database Warburg Institute home pageWarburg Institute Library
← back to main page
Apocalypse (Revelation)
→ The Seventh Seal and the first six Trumpets (Rev. 8-9)
→ God gives the Angels the seven Trumpets (Rev. 8:2)
→ The angels holding the Trumpets (cf. Rev. 8:2)
→ The Angel burning incense (Rev. 8:3-4)
→ The Angel casting the censer over the earth (Rev. 8:5)
→ The burning of incense and the first Trumpets in one composition (Rev. 8:2-13)
→ First Trumpet: Hail and Fire, Destruction of Trees (Rev. 8:7)
→ Second Trumpet: Burning Mountain, Destruction of Sea and Ships (Rev. 8:8-9)
→ Third Trumpet: Star called Wormwood, Destruction of Rivers (Rev. 8:10-11)
→ Fourth Trumpet: Eclipse of the stars, Eagle crying Woe (Rev. 8:12-13)
→ Fifth Trumpet: Bottomless Pit, Locusts (Rev. 9:1-12)
→ Sixth Trumpet: Angels at the Euphrates, Army of Horsemen (Rev. 9:13-15)